Labour’s Janet Daby wins Lewisham East in by-election

Janet DabyImage copyright
Labour Party

Image caption

Janet Daby is the new MP for Lewisham East

Labour’s Janet Daby has won the Lewisham East by-election, which was triggered by the resignation of Labour MP Heidi Alexander.

The ex-deputy mayor of Lewisham won with 50.2% of the vote, and said she felt “humbled and delighted”.

Ms Alexander announced in May she was quitting Parliament to work for Mayor of London Sadiq Khan.

Ms Daby was picked as a candidate from a shortlist of black and ethnic minority women.

She received 11,033 votes, the Lib Dem candidate Lucy Salek 5,404 (24.6%) and the Conservative candidate Ross Archer 3,161 (14.4%).

In her acceptance speech Ms Daby said her victory meant “we will not tolerate an extreme Brexit in Lewisham East”.

“We refuse to stand by and let a Tory government devastate our schools, our health service and our housing,” she added.

A total of 21,979 people turned out to vote in the by-election – representing 33.2% of the electorate.

There was an 19% swing from Labour to the Lib Dems, who saw a 20% increase in their vote share from the last election.

Labour won the south London seat at the 2017 general election with 32,072 votes – a majority of more than 20,000.

Their new majority is 5,629.

The full list of candidates in Lewisham East was:

  • Rosamund Adoo-Kissi-Debrah – Green Party
  • Ross Archer – Conservative
  • Charles Carey – no description
  • Janet Daby – Labour
  • Massimo DiMambro – Democrats and Veterans Party
  • Sean Finch – Libertarian Party
  • Patrick Gray – Radical Party
  • Thomas Hall – Young People’s Party
  • Howling Laud Hope – Monster Raving Loony Party
  • David Kurten – UKIP
  • Maureen Martin – Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Mandu Reid – Women’s Equality Party
  • Lucy Salek – Liberal Democrats
  • Anne Marie Waters – For Britain Movement

Source link

Comments are closed

Featured Links

    Search Archive

    Search by Date
    Search by Category
    Search with Google
    Flirt online

    Flirt online

    Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes